Extraordinary

I always find my way to appreciate things that I accidentally come across. I’d love to know about the background story, whether it’s historic reason or a personal story. This mindset mostly came from music during my early teenage. Ever since when I came across with Channel V, MTV, HMV, I was sold to all foreign music. The more I listened to, the more bands, artists and genres i discovered. As I get more mature, I’m willing to explore genres that used to not attuned to. My current music collection varies from jazz to heavy metal, but I still have Madonna’s and Jewel’s older albums. I can appreciate wines while coffee is also my thing because of how accessible they are. And without a surprise, I finally fell in love with Chinese tea recently. If I was never helping my friend on his startup tea company, I’d have never sampled tea and got me curious to discover for more. All these occurrences I took it as my fate. When I look back, it has to happen with no any other way.

It’s my belief that personal experience is the strongest hard earned reward, knowledge comes second. I’m all about exploring it on my own. Others would take up lessons, look for buddies, be friend with the experts (at some point seek advises from experts is inevitable). Others would think it’s a rather lonely path, I however think it’s an opportunity to find your inner self.

Tea can be just as technical as wine and coffee culture. Thanks to the surge of new wave tea culture in Taiwan. They made tea that’s as accessible as ordering a Latte. They believe the old fashioned tea ceremony way was overrated (very true), instead they modernized the entire presentation. I always love the execution part whether it’s old or new. I love their high attitude oolong green tea, the character is unlike anything from Mainland China. The ‘perfume’ releases simply extraordinary. It’s love, that’s what I call.

Blossom
Blooming
Rain Drop
Pouring

3 thoughts on “Extraordinary

  1. It’s good to see the tea culture being rejuvenated. The last picture is very nice. When I first saw it on my phone, I couldn’t make out what it was. The round lines and the finger made it so sensual. Now I can see the details when I view it on my laptop. I love how you captured the tea flowing out.

    1. I thought I should also make a statement for myself in this new hobby of mine that has been so underrated in our younger generation. It just needs a revamp in tools and gadgets to make it a hipster toy for anyone. Maybe because it’s something Chinese, maybe I should support our culture.

      It’s fun to run in a shop and taste a new batch of tea before actually buying. I don’t think normally coffee shops allow bean buyers taste it (i think they should!)

  2. That’s the beauty, and fun, of keeping an open mind. This way, you’ll always be discovering something new!

    Like you, I discovered Chinese tea at a later age. In my case, it was only after I had left Singapore and when living in Belgium. I came across a pop-up tea shop in Brussels and was in turn introduced an excellent tea boutique run by a lady from Suzhou. When I was in Taipei two years ago, I bought some wonderful Oolong tea which I recently finished (and can’t wait to replenish it soon).

Leave a Reply

