I’ve Missed

The heat is catching up as we gradually move into the summery season. I kept telling myself that there’s not that many hikes I could do until the end of the year. I’m intentionally avoiding steep hikes unless I feel like I needed a bit of stress relief. Until the last rainy week that had practically ruined my weekends, I realize how much i’ve missed being in the outdoor, how much I’ve missed discovering the uncharted territories, how much I’ve missed just being stupid.

I like the idea of just being stupid, do some of the things that not everyone would normally do in routine; but then when I tell someone what I’d done, It’s turns into your own identifier – a topic starter.

Being curiously stupid unleashes possibilities. I appreciate these people who inherit this mentality. They’re willing to accept things we normally don’t. They’re committed in an ideology. Whether it’s a personal pursuit of work travel without calculating the successive rate, or take on a labor intensive job with rewarding salary, . They know what they’re after. It’s a world they see differently.

I was never a risk taker in any way. I am too stupid to be stupid enough.

Calling of Nature
Falling Water
Danger - Cliff
Catching the Breath

4 thoughts on “I’ve Missed

  1. Sometimes it’s about having a different perspective. For instance, “taking a chance” sounds less daunting than “taking a risk”. Your post brought to mind a quote that I like: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

    By the way, I’m moving to HK at the end of next month! Would love to meet up sometime🙂

    1. yes, you’re absolutely right. That’s why I love using the word ‘Solo’ instead of ‘Alone’ to make it sound more determined. Thanks for the quote!

      Wow fantastic. Let me know when you’re around, I’d love to meet a blogger in person.

  2. I won’t say you’re stupid. Maybe it was just your own cheeky way of describing your uniqueness. I think most creative people find they don’t fit into the 9 to 5 business world. I had a medical appt yesterday and was asked “in the last 30 days, have you stopped or was prevented from doing activities that made you feel happy?” I think from what I read, you always find time to do the things you like (photography, tea, hiking and exploring HKG…). Maybe you’re happier than most people.

Leave a Reply

