Finish Line

Red Maple

2 bottles of 750ml water, a banana and a few of my favorite Taiwanese cookies. That’s what I had during my longest hike 19.7km (7 hrs).

Every other week, I opened up the web and check out this Plover Cove Reservoir route. The reservoir is the largest in surface area in Hong Kong. How large exactly is it? On a relatively clear day, you can hardly see the other end. It was originally part of the sea until in the 60s where the former Head of Water Department visited there on a boat trip and decided this can be the perfect place for a reservoir ( fresh clean water was scarce during those years).

My previous longest hike was 17km (over 6 hours). I knew all I needed was to get up early and everything would go as planned. This day I got up at 6:45am. After breakfast, an hour and a half plus some wait at the bus stop, I arrived at the starting point – Wu Kau Tang.

Plover Cove

There were warning signs saying the route is extremely challenging, steep and unsheltered. Do not walk this trail in hot/unstable weather to avoid heat stroke, lightning and severe cold. Without sufficient equipment, food and water or physically unfit should not attempt.

I was told that the terrain is mainly loose gravel. It’s very slippery even on a dry clear day. I slipped but managed not to fall without a hiking stick (never used them) on my entire trip. Throughout it was a test of my endurance.

The infinite pool

The whole time I was thinking what’s on the other side of this reservoir, where these little islands connected and the longest dam going back to the main island. The dam was so long (2km) that took me 40 mins to walk from one end to another. They were all new to me. All the tiredness were gone when I completed the route.

//

Hiking has gotten so popular these days. It has everything to do with the social media and how the city living is changing. Karaoke is no longer a place to hangout, not everyone has the luxury to travel, eating out and sitting at a cafe can be static and boring. So now casual people can go on those family trails, seasoned hikers can go on those off-road trails, or someone like myself who yearn for challenges (while still able) can go for the extreme. My journey so far has been my spiritual communication as much as my written journal of my trips every other week. Maybe the life struggle we see isn’t all that bad. Don’t treat it like a race, whatever comes next, just let it happen. You fall, you get up; you lost, you double back; you tired, you refuel; when you reach the finish line, remember to rejoice!

Finish line

2 thoughts on “Finish Line

Leave a Reply

