Leap of Faith

Looking to Sunset Peak

It was my second attempt on this route. Knowing the fact that I may get lost, I could slip and fall because of steepness and natural of terrain, I could chicken out because of height. The mentality of these half day hike journeys is that once I started, it has to be finished; if I don’t, I’d come back with a much better prep. This route by all means is nothing like the Alps’, but in my heart this is exactly what it is.

I had grabbed on anything that gives me a pull, even I had to crawl to get that grip.

I’d returned to the same spot where I got lost last time at the downhill rocky stream (there should be a way up after going down to certain point). I was really cautious from that point on. Not only because I was not certain with the direction, it’s because I did not know what’s ahead. Would it lead to another route that requires more advance climbing? Would there be wet spots where I would not get any grip on? Would there be cliffs where an excessive amount of courage is needed?

All the above doubts could cloud my judgement. So instead, I only focused on what’s in front of eyes and tackle them one by one.

Waving in the air

Near the last stretch to the peak, I came to a cliff where I had to slide across. On my left side, there was not a landing spot, my right side had a gap (not quite exactly a solid gripping spot) between two huge rocks, and there’s not enough head room to stand. A rather awkward position to manuever. Not only i had to crawl 2 meters on a rock that was only 1-foot wide without a solid grip, I had to switch from that crawling position to uplight position on a 4-inch wide tip of a rock next to nothing. That’s when I really wanted wind to stop for a moment. When all that was over, I said to myself I had completed a stunt.

The sun was right behind where I was climbing, which made it rather cool on a fine 26ºC day. As I was reaching the top, I began hearing chatter of people, I felt the warmth from the sun. The sunlight gradually reappeared as I reached the Lantau Peak (934m).

The Peak

//

I considered this trip as a test. When life seems to be not moving ahead, I want to try and prove myself worthy. While It’s not imaginable of what’s ahead, nobody can predict the future, but one can make a huge influence on the outcome.

Days ago it was the HK Food & Culture Book: From Dim Sum to Abalone book launch party, the book that I contributed as a photographer. I’d been thankful enough knowing the team. I invited several other people to celebrate with us. That might be my first time ever inviting people from all different circles. A blogger/world traveller we recently met in person for the first time, we’d been following each other for a while which she just happened to settle in the city for a few years. She’s been really honest in giving me feedbacks on my blog and photography. My former classmate in secondary school. He offers me opportunity in his startup tea business. This was the main reason I learn about Chinese tea. Then there’s my sister who’s willing to be around backing me up. I introduced all of them to each other.

 

One thought on “Leap of Faith

Leave a Reply

