What If

What if I was smarter and wiser?
What if I did not suck in exams?
What if I hadn’t study abroad?
What if the international friends I made had all become locals?
What if I picked another major?

All these wonders came out of nowhere when I visited the Hong Kong University (HKU). To return to a university campus, it feels like a place I’m familiar with and yet so distant. Everyone passes by my shoulders could be someone special knowing how much they’d been through with all the public exams. I do hold plenty of respect for the local graduates. They’ve accomplished 1/3 of their lives unless they pursuit for higher research degrees. The other 2/3 would be their career and marriage/family.

It all sounded so formulated but it’s true, look around.

It’s such an odd feeling now when I think of it. When I used to be in the campus where I studied, I just didn’t seem to know anyone. The whole place just all felt so temporary, almost as if I did not belong there. Looking back all those years where I lived, where I hung out, where I’d travel, all the people, things had all became just memory. It existed but unreachable again to me.

I have brought nothing back but only by my memory.

I wondered what if I met another group of university schoolmates like in high school. Would I be connecting with them in town, instead of where my university schoolmates are locating internationally? I do not know.

As many have said ‘live for the moment’, who cares what the past is like while we’re in present tense.

Feeling the nature
The University
Open Air Canteen
Main Building

6 thoughts on “What If

  1. Nice photos! Maybe I am one of them who passed by your shoulder when you are visiting the campus.🙂
    As a HKU student, I also ponder on those wonders at times. Yet life continues, we cannot start over to experience the events that have been missed. There, what I am now doing is to grab every learning chance and make them memorable, even after months and years, in my life episode.

Leave a Reply

