Imaginary Mentor

I tend to believe ‘Si Fu’ would only appear in your early stage of life. ‘Si Fu’ by all means I refer them as the mentor/coach. When you’re grown up, there’s just no excuse for you to take care of yourself. There might be exceptions found in church or other types of religious communities. I just wish I could meet one soon enough that I could get influence from. I’m very fed up on figuring things and go around circle in life. This cycle has been going on for so long until I realize I’d become my own ‘Si Fu’. Maybe it’s just my nature to dig into my own world and experiment.

I was watching a documentary of festival in India. The host said people there are so easy to be happy. My mom told me it’s true that people are happier when they’re living in a place where everyone is poor. There’s no comparison, less desire on money and material. To take one step further, how can it possibly done here in Hong Kong? Who are we, when in the absence of money and status? Are we really all equal? One thing that I’d been thinking about for so long is, what you could contribute to the society without producing major economical values is what proved you to be a useful person. I know being poor is my biggest weakness, It totally steered me toward my philosophy. It’s why I think I’m doing some goods to the society as a photographer.

People often ask me why don’t ever go on vacation for a travel. I try to be dodgy and come up with a sub-par excuse that I answered: that’s because I could easily over-spent. My real fact is, I’ve got retired parents without pension to take care of. That’s my priority. Whatever comes next is what I spend on locally, things such as food, clothes. Sometimes I even think thankfully that I do not have rich friends that I need to catch up with. I do want to travel, ever since I come back from the U.S. I’d not set my foot at the airport terminal. It’s a real shame for a photographer. It’s life I must accept.

Behind the Scene
The Act in Life as a stage
City of Glamor
The City Night
Glamor with a price
Message: To Let, less of the glamor
Colors in real life
Colors in imagination

14 thoughts on “Imaginary Mentor

  1. It’s not easy to be in your position. Eldercare is a big responsibility. Btw – a lot of rich people don’t have your skills, insight and life experience. Thanks for sharing a bit about yourself.

  2. Hope that you’ll come upon future opportunities for travel without compromising on your priorities. There are some jobs – e.g. in the tourism industry – that involve some travel for work😉

  3. Your post really touched me. Not only because of your helpful reflections (about being your own “Si Fu”) but also because I didn’t expect the “I’m not traveling because I prefer taking care of my retired parents”-part. So many people only do what is important to them and in my culture, elder people are often put into old people’s home and forgotten there. I guess there is no such thing in Hong Kong but I admire that you take the responsibility. That’s inspiring.

    Also, I love your photos.🙂 I hope it’s not a totally stupid question, do you edit your photos or do you use a camera that produces photos looking with this effect?

    I wish you all the best!

    1. Thank you Monika. It may sound moving, but I really do not feel that way. It’s more like being there with them more than anything. It can be a frustration for some or sometimes I imagine what if I’m financially able to move out.. I totally missing out the part where I could invite friends to come over for a dinner, sports games, or simply hangout.. This is a real life example of an adult not able to fully live his/her personal life.

      1. Thank you for being so honest about it! That sounds even harder than I imagined. I’m sure your parents are grateful for having a son like you and appreciate what you’re doing for them, it’s anything but granted (in other cultures).
        However I hope you can live your life in a way that doesn’t make you feel like missing out anything!

        I reread the “Si Fu” part and want to add that I don’t think you’re too old to have a Si Fu. I think we can still have a positive influence (mentor) in our 20s or even 30s. But you do sound as if you were mature enough to be your own Si Fu🙂

        Thanks for the information about the editing🙂

  4. The whole world is a ‘Si Fu’, and perhaps we shoukd learn from it to the best of our ability. There might be a reason for you being in Hong Kong, and for anothe ‘poor’ guy in India, and another rich one in America, but the freedome, joy and happiness is permeating in both cases, nevertheless mony is important and plays a role in our day to day life but beyond that or the underlying substrat is who we are in essece, pure, free and eternal. Enjoy this vast expanse and be free of poor and rich concept. Take care of you and your parents. Let us be less than a blade of grass and humble in our approach and life will give us in plenty.

    All the very best!

  5. Hi Alan. Feel like i know you a bit better after reading this and i am always relieved to find that there are still some good people left in this world. Just remember that in some way and at some time good things happen to good people. All the best! And keep shooting … you are good at it!

    1. Oh my best regards to you too and thanks for your positive input. I mean it! Life is too short, and my story is not as adventurous as others’ seem.🙂 My personality does not show a lot of emotion or affection in person, but i guess sometimes typing does help. Not being the most talkative person does seem to be a crime here, odd..

Leave a Reply

