Food Culture

How amazing food is not only a necessity to just filling up our stomach, it is also an art, history, a culture that represent a country, a region, a community, a civilization. In our modern days, it’s also a romantic leisure activity, a skilled asset (course, certificate) that may even get you a job (knowledge, experience), a science to research on the food ingredients. You need to know the people, travel the places in order to understand the entire picture. Excuse for all the manners and formalities in fine dining for a sec – When food serves in front of you as a fine dining situation, it elevated not only your party’s mood but also to the food. It’s such a stress reliever for some who could afford the price. Not only the food ceremony itself is the celebration of life, the entire process of eating and sharing is such an important gathering moments for all culture.

Food and cooking is a complete set of language of itself. I’m not even a chef but my curiosity have brought me far enough to learn about another culture of food. It’s not until recently I interacted with several guys on their book project, I realized how little I know about my own culture as a local. I really know nothing about the old school traditional ingredients nor the history behind it. Rather I’m chasing after another food culture that I have not even been to the origin and actively looking for more. Isn’t it strange?

To the Cantonese cooking, we do not care much about the oil as it’s mostly for cooking situation. To the Western culture, it’s heavily used as dressing, seasoning and the final touch. It gets very interesting when I hear how the Italians (being a vastly successful food exporting country) extract their common olive oil through cold press method, it can be unfiltered for even more rustic look (many expert says it does not affect the taste) and where & what olives are collected from. It can be a semester course just to learn about the olive oil. How it’s used is just ‘oh my’, unbelievably easy. The rule of thumb is to really keep it simple, drizzle on the salad, rice, steak, seafood, anything uncomplicatedly cooked. It works like sesame oil except olive oil should be generously used to carry out the maximum flavor of the accompanied food.

Shadows of Bottle
hairy pig
when homemade is long way from home
from all directions

3 thoughts on “Food Culture

  1. Nice post with awesome pics! I took a food culture class in college; it definitely opened my views to the world of food! I recently traveled to the Kansai region of Japan and got to try Kaiseki Cuisine, which blew my mind. The exquisiteness is just mindboggling when compared it to Cantonese cuisine (which I grew up with).

Leave a Reply

