Chef’s Passion & Love

In early September, I was helping at the Restaurant & Bar Trade Exhibition for the company I worked for. There’s so much to work for and so little to see as a staff, no surprise. Yet, from my trip to the restroom I saw something that made my eyes sparkled on the first day. That is the culinary competition for the Young Talent Trophy. The host Disciples Escoffier had a dedicated area with stage, open kitchens, judges’ panel and seating area. The first time came to my mind was the Japanese culinary challenge broadcasted on TV – the Iron Chef. I just love that show and had gone through two periods of my life, childhood and college. It brings me back so deep I just indulged into the entire environment. Chefs prepared food without the sous, all done within an hour with selected classic French dishes/ingredients. These are professionals and likely without any fame just yet in their early career. They were incredibly focused. Then there’s the catch.

There’s the female chef representing South Korea in one corner. In Asia, Korean is the trend setter. I’m no exception but to check out what she’s up to. Honestly, if that was just a young chef from Hong Kong, I might not stop and look at all. It was my first time seeing live cooking by a female chef. She’s in her own world making food, reminds me of the athletes. I was there for just a minute and i got that impression already on the first day.

The Exhibition lasts for 3 days and I was there all the way. I did not even remember what I’d done on the second day, it’s just crowded and nothing extraordinary. The third day, just when I was done for the day; I stood in as a spectator. It’s all due to the Macao representative. He’s enthusiastic looking and crunching through the last few minutes for the course. That’s the time I decided to capture a few of those moments to remember. There were some other chef candidates from Hong Kong, Singapore, China, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, and the mentioned Macao and South Korea. They all enjoyed cooking a lot, and had shown professionalism.

The last day I squeezed out a little of my lunch break for these incredible cooking, panel tasting action. I just could not witness the later trophy presentation ceremony for the winners and runner-ups. All I heard was the South Korean lady won, her name is Kim Eunbi. Not bad, not bad at all. I’m so happy at the same time jealous that they’ve picked their profession so early on. Everyone has their own path to take, right?

Chef's Presentation
Prep and Cook
Plating
Plating
FInal Touch
To the judges
The Escoffier International Judges/Presidents
The Magic Moment

2 thoughts on “Chef’s Passion & Love

Leave a Reply

