One of Many

Photography is one common medium to share stories in digital age. Who does not use a smartphone these days in a somewhat modern country? Who does not own a Ricoh GRD if they’re into street photography? Who does not know the magnum photographers? Everyone perceives of the idea of street photography in a very similar way. It’s like all the ingredients are already on the table, it’s up to how the person wants to cook it, plate it, pair it, eat it.

There’re plenty of people doing street photography. Some are very aggressive on the close up portraits and usually earning their popularity. I give them credit on persistence. Some are just so good at looking at the light and shadow, it’s like anywhere they can make spectacular contrasty images. Some are just so well timed on a live scene, all the elements just click. Some do journalistic documentary, as if they’re the reporters. Some do erotic staged photography, actually I kind of like following it too. They all have a favorable way to perceive their own photography. That’s the fun part of it, not entirely the place, the light, the people; it’s how the photographer demands their image and present them in a way.

It’s insane how many coffee cafés have opened in Hong Kong. I’m not talking about the international known Starbucks. I’m talking about the local indies. People are wanting to know about coffee beans these days (here in Hong Kong). It’s a fashion (the wine culture has shifted into the beans). Not only they serve up a delicious cup with latte art, some even roast their own imported beans. Don’t know their quality though, I had a bad experience with a very well known local roaster. There’s a reason why people are still dying to have brand preference on their coffee beans. Quality is one factor that determines the sustainability of their business. Quality creates a legacy. My experience in food business tells me that the Italians are good at that. Take the coffee as an example, who has not heard of Lavazza, Illy?

It’s fun when the Inspired Eye founders Olivier and Don gave me an interview for their magazine. I’ve never been asked about my photography in any way. It’s good opportunity run a quick check on myself, a self-reflection to what I’d done so far. My experience shared reaffirmed my vision ever since I started blogging. That is, I just want the world to see Hong Kong. Nothing more. The Q&As made me sound like I’m someone really special. I’m not doing photography professionally, only for my self-interest. To receive such an honor, it meant something to me. I rarely get any feedback from anyone as you can see from the bottom of each blog posts despite the number of followers. Alright the followers and likes don’t justify anything. There’s not a whole lot of ways to know how I’m doing. Perhaps that reflects how extremely unsociable i’m, or maybe not everyone understands my english well enough. Haha, just a joke. Fact is, I know I do not type anything provocative or have a extremely well thought out idea to share with. I guess it does not matter I’m not a teacher/curator/philosopher, I do what I do and shoot what I shoot. I appreciate my readers follow my blog along the way.

Fiber
The end of the road
Hallway
Fountain
Models
Lecture
Mall
Factory
Lake

6 thoughts on “One of Many

  1. Alan, you mastered the way of photographing en passant. And your PP treatment is excellent. Nothing more but also nothing less. Yes, the big question about the WHY PHOTOGRAPHY can be overwhelming. You are recording your vision of Hong Kong. You are very good in it. Believe me. Your pictures answering the big question: Why should Alan take pictures? Because since I follow his blog I see Hong Kong pictures taken by someone else with different eyes. You are looking for beauty (not kitsch!) in everyday life. This might be an old concept of art. But hey, we all are successors. As long as you don’t want to send a massage to the world it’s the style, the approach that counts.

    1. dear KUM, Thanks for your comment with many specific terms🙂 I think when a maestro picks up a brush or pencil you know they’re working. It’s what I believe. I want to produce while I think I need momentary breaks. I’m human after all. I really should consider adjusting my cycle and experience other types of presentation. I do not want to lose presence while at it. I’m trying to untie the knots.

Leave a Reply

