The Instant Analog

Okay. Retro is a big hit in the photography world, even Nikon’s DSLR now becomes a chunky retro machine-gun. We try hard to make our cameras and photographs look retro. How about reversing it?

I wasn’t part of my plan to pay a visit to a city park that required a bit of travel, until my girlfriend decided to finally bring out her Fuji Instax camera that hadn’t been used for years. Thanks to her! It’s a cute (pink accented) camera that produces polaroid-like results. I can assure you the Instax Mini 7S model is designed for those who know nothing about photography. While it’s as easy to use as it is, the results offered were beyond anything I had not imagined. It has basically no control at all for this model, only 4 basic modes for environment selections (They control the aperture size from f12~32 i believe). The flash fires whenever the shutter triggered.

The focal length is 60mm and it’s standard among all other Instax models. It does a hell of a job for selfie and even jaw dropping for portraits. The photographs we have come up were some good memoir. To physically hold the films and photographs is a feeling that I haven’t had for a very long while. I hate to break it down this way. The films are not cheap, but the joy to share during the shoot and after is priceless. The Instax is now our toy.

The day after I was circulating the idea about what makes the Instax photos so special. While the person in the actual photo plays a huge part, I also found out it’s the ‘extra attention’ paid to each photo makes Instax and perhaps others refer as film so special. I got no problem with the ‘extra attention’ as I shoot my digital like film in a way. The 60mm lens which similar to the standard 50mm has put new perspective to casual users who rarely use this focal, I’m for one. It puts even more attention to what’s in and not in the frame to nail the photo.

The name card sized instant photos rolls out while we hit the shutter become the precious memories. It can’t be replicated by our digital gear’s megapixels. I do not think we can compare the two, digital and instant analog together. They’re for different use for and as a user. Since that day, I’m addicted to the Instax. I can’t wait to turn the next blank film into something interesting I’ve encountered. The Mini 90 sounds like fun.

I’ll give myself a few days to cool off this feeling…

Gone missing
Around the clock
End of the day, start of the night
Eye
Bananas
American School Bus
Restaurant
Fruit stall
Gardener and the construction
Monitoring
Nathan Road
Flowers
Poses
The famed tv host as the fortune god
Flowers and rain water

7 thoughts on “The Instant Analog

  1. Such lovely quality to these photos! To be honest, I’ve never quite got over the death of film. Not being a great photographer or ever having developed my own photos, once shops that develop photos or sell film became close to extinct in UK, I’ve not been as into photography with my digital camera. It’s just not the same. I don’t know if I’m just old fashioned or plain lazy. I just can’t be bothered to deal with the photos after I’ve taken them. Whereas there is always that anticipation with film as you wait for them to come back and look through what you did and remember the days out shooting.
    Now I take photos with my phone randomly. Then I carried my SLR everywhere and was a lot more creative and adventurous.

    1. I’m totally thinking about the possibility of the instant film camera. I think it’d be a change in pace and let alone the standard 60mm focal length is worthy of my time exploring. Whatever comes out from it is like making an espresso, nothing else needed. I’m spending way too much time research it, maybe i should just get it..

    1. Thanks very much KUM. I also like the processed end results too. It is digital but i wanted to treat them like film so i had this thought to process them this way. Many of the shots were i found personal which got me thinking about the most accessible film camera, the intax. It’s intended for more personal purposes.

Leave a Reply

