Revisit to our memories – Ocean Park

Cable Car

It was a summer last time visited the Ocean Park. It was scourging hot, so sunny that burnt our skin and packed with lots of mainland visitors. This time it’s much better, only without the heat; we felt much better.

Lady

Cable Cars - Ocean Park

Old Hong Kong - Ocean Park

Old Hong Kong - Ocean Park

Old Hong Kong - Ocean Park

Old Hong Kong - Ocean Park

Ocean Park is everyone’s childhood memory as it is the only surviving theme park founded in Hong Kong. And it is the iconic attraction of Hong Kong. Not only me, everyone is glad the Ocean Park is still here. I even heard a man saying he hadn’t visit the park for 30 years, he could barely recognize it!

Couple doing self portrait

Wishing they were young again

Sea dog

Man and animal

Diver vacuum-cleaning the tank

Feeding the penguins

What makes me like Ocean Park so much is really the ‘memories’ it brings to me. Just their cable cars alone reminded me of myself and family together since I was just a kid. It’s over 20 years already since I ever got on a mountain crossing cable car! It’s still running so as the rest of the park!

With ‘have a great time with family’ in mind, it’s always a good idea go as light as possible. It’s a revisit to my 28mm – Ricoh GRD since a long time.

There’re plenty of scary rides at the park but those were not what we were after. We like the zoos, aquariums, themed restaurant, water show…that’s precisely why family with grown-ups can still enjoy their time while not feeling silly with the cartoons (vs. Disneyland). We had only seen a few things and so many more to see, such as the performances by sea animals. A day is just not enough!

Good time

Watching the laughters

Climber

In a cage

View

View from the Ocean Park

Jellyfish

Magical jellyfish

Jellyfish

The new ‘Old Hong Kong’ section is a street dresses up with the 50-70s decorations. It’s well-decorated but somehow it feels fake to me. Nothing is really going on. The classic street food was expected, with a ‘park’ price. Why bother eating there when we all could eat the same/better food anywhere?

What I love the most was the themed restaurant at the South Pole Aquarium. We could easily see penguins through a huge glass. Just how often do we see live penguins swim right next to us?!

Feeling like in the 60s.

6 thoughts on “Revisit to our memories – Ocean Park

    1. They are fun to ride on. I think in general any cable cars are fun, it’s just that I grew up with these and so attached with this signature of the park. Glad you enjoy my photo essay, I have fun playing with my little camera too.

Leave a Reply

