Good afternoon, Taikoo!

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Lovely warm weather over last weekend. I almost forgot how good it feels to be out of the business district. To be in the waterfront taking deep breaths of fresh air, all the wonders had gone away. I observed how much people enjoyed their time near the shore. It was like a paradise.

Not far ahead I saw someone walking on a tower of some sort. I wasn’t sure what it was until I walked a bit closer. Oh sweet! there’s a museum (free of charge) – Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery. There I was, right by a real former service fireboat. It was gigantic, well, I’d never seen a boat like this as an exhibit. There were also other exhibits (uniform, tools, medals, pins, signal flags…)

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

It was late in the afternoon after seeing the Hobbit movie with friends (It’s great!). I had a little chat with my long time friend by the basketball court in Taikoo and off I went. I did not know Taikoo/Quarry Bay has a waterfront park until I walked into it. This park situated by a huge private residential estate (Taikoo Shing). It’s also one of the nicest neighborhood to live in, very accessible, clean, quiet,… no wonder the market value of the apartments remain very high after 20 years.

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

As usual, I was always curious in these kind of things. I spent quite a bit of time to explore. It’s also the time I appreciate the LCD for framing my shots. Given the nature of where I shot this (museum) and how I shot it, that explains why it’s different from what I usually do. They were still shot by me🙂

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery

I continued my walk until i arrived at the Shau Kei Wan storm shelter. And when I turn around, it’s already sunset.

My day ended with a special Christmas performance by a string quartet at the Taikoo Plaza shopping mall. Merry Christmas to y’all!

Leave a Reply

