One month with Ricoh GRD IV – Episode V: Street Photography, Little by Little.

Muscle man

Pet

By the Harbor

Lone Indian

When go out shoot photos, we never work under pressure. Or let me put it this way, we shouldn’t be. You can get nervous, only that’s not pressure. When we’re not pressured, we are free to think about all the possibilities in shooting photographs of yours. That’s precisely what we ought to maintain –

‘Don’t pressure yourself to shoot anything that you do not feel like, but do shoot what you feel like when most of the key elements in the scene feel right’.

Public Estate in Shek Kip Mei

Frightened boy

At the McDonald's Entrance

I tend to walk for an hour and get only less than 5 shots in average. I’ve always surprised by how some of my shots actually looked more than okay in my archive. For the past month or so, I’m starting to understand it’s alright/normal to go home without any photo. Sometimes there are just nothing interesting going on around us. It’s very likely I found and it has nothing to do with whether I’m avoiding a certain type of shots i’ve taken in the past. When something doesn’t feel right, then it’s going reflect on your photo no matter what. It’s always good to be prepared.

Erhu practice at the watchsmith

Fuk Wah Street

Curb side ribbon stall

Love

The Old Asian Cowboy

I often check on my shutter speed whenever the light condition changes. That’s one of the few things I get myself prepared. You may have yours.

Street Photography is a collective kind of activity. It’s continuous, ever-changing, ever-evolving. We also re-discover from our own photography thru learning. Little by little, day by day we learn, we try, we discover. Once we achieved our short term goals, we display our images and build our collection upon them.

Couple(s)

When Street Performer getting a break

Watch

Reading comic

A Couple in Restaurant & the Butcher

The MTR construction men

Dog hangs out at a jewelry store

A little over half a year since I started it, my photography had taken a few different directions. I had gone back and studied my photos taken earlier this year. I discovered the pattern hasn’t changed much. It helped me to align to my own direction. Reset my course and launch again.

I learned this month that it’s totally possible to shoot portraits with the GRD. I’m still learning to control the flash, ISO and aperture mix. So it’d be an ongoing process.

The coming months I might be going through unemployment. A change in the company’s direction and my job duties are forcing me to think about the alternatives. I needed a change in work environment anyway. It’s a big decision and hope everything would work out. It’d NOT affect my photography. It’s not taking a huge chunk of my time, so…it’s still manageable.

8 thoughts on “One month with Ricoh GRD IV – Episode V: Street Photography, Little by Little.

    1. Thank you, Don. It might be the last series of the month. I don’t know for sure yet. I might as well use it as a break. There’s no need to push myself so hard😛

    1. A lot of photos come naturally. We just have to be there and click click click. I won’t disagree when someone says we have to blend in and anticipate at the scene even for 5, 10, 30 mins. I’m just not that type of person. I can stay at a scene for 3 mins at most. Thanks KUM!

      1. Depends but 3 minutes should be enough. If you stay longer the people start to forget you being there. This is a strange effect. A photographer popping in is more obvious than one being around for couple of minutes. Cheers – KUM

Leave a Reply

