One month with Ricoh GRD IV – Episode IV: A Documentary of Hungry Ghost Festival

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

I won’t lie to you. I’d been using the LCD to frame my photo quite extensively. The thing I realized myself is that, It takes twice as much time for me to frame it the way I want when using the LCD vs. just from a viewfinder. It’s often the viewpoint that I found myself always adjusting.

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

These past two days, I had been having headaches. I felt the need of taking medicine. Instead I just let it bother me all day, even at work…Today I thought I needed to get some fresh air and headed to a park during my 1-hr lunch break.

This little documentary of Hungry Ghost Festival was an accident. By that mean, I saw two basketball courts had temporary roofed structure at distance. I asked if I could entered. The simple reply ‘of course!’ earned me a chance to document what’s going on at a formal ritual and all the settings during this particular festival.

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

The entire July is the month of Ghost Festival in the Lunar Calendar. I have mentioned some of the backgrounds on Episode I. The formal ritual varies in size and scale organized by Tao/Buddhist communities. This one that I visited is a pretty decent size with a huge stage for the Tao/Buddhist people to do their ritual ceremony. They were all dressed up. Tao people often dresses in dark blue. And Buddhist people dresses in orange/red and white.

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

There are also altars for folks who wish to worship too. I spent about 40 mins there and believe or not. My headache was gone..perhaps all the holy smoke?

The ceremony had musicians playing tunes during the ritual. I guess the atmosphere with all the ritual thing was the therapy that made me feel better with all the tension i got lately.

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

Hungry Ghost Festival 盂蘭會

At the back exit of the stage there was an area with traditional Chinese robes displaying. They were huge!! at least two story tall!! I couldn’t help but snapping for a few. I think tourists would be interested in these kind of things. I’m a local and I’m already that excited.

I came back after work. They seemed had a banquet with many tables. I was late and I did not see them on schedule for anything. It was such a cool experience to have on a boring day i must say.

3 thoughts on “One month with Ricoh GRD IV – Episode IV: A Documentary of Hungry Ghost Festival

  1. Alan,
    The LCD is my way to work, nuff said.
    This document you’ve been working on is very interesting. The images support your words and the words support the images.
    Together we learn about the subject as you do with the added treat of learning a little more about you.

    Good stuff….don

    1. hi Don,
      Thanks! Sometimes these kind of special events would encourage me to shoot with more patience rather than quick, on-the-go like when I wander on the street. It’s a good balance to have a well thought out captures once in a while as such. Balance is something that keeps me motivated.

Leave a Reply

