To the northern border – Lau Fau Shan (流浮山)

Bridge cables

on the Highway

on the highway - housing estates

Lau Fau Shan Monument

Lau Fau Shan in Chinese has a phase meaning of ‘floating mountain’. The ancestors must have named it this way due to the terrain near the shore. It was a company dinner that brought me to this place the first time. It’s not a common place for visiting as it requires travel. Thanks to my boss and the company, I got to travel there the first time with comfort and convenience by a tour bus.

We took off at 5pm while there were still some daylight. I got to see the partial sunset on the way at the tour bus. Lau Fau Shan is located at the northwestern part of the Peninsula or we call it the New Territories. It’s a fishing village. While it still is, many have gave up and moved into the city for better lives. This place is very famous for its oysters. The company dinner also had two courses with oysters as finale. I loved the deep fried oysters so much. I don’t even remember how many i’ve popped, 4-5? So moist on the inside, almost melts in the mouth.

Piss

Seafood restaurant

I got to visit the surroundings near the shore just before the dinner. There’s a seafood market as well as the wholesale bidding area for the buyers. Not sure if the bidding area is still in function. It certainly looked as if though. As I passed through the market, there’s the beach with rocks. There were still some fishing facilities can be found. So I guess fisherman is still an active profession there.

Behind the scene of a restaurant

Market

Sharpening the blade

Bidding slips

Wholesale market

From the beach, I could vaguely see what’s across it. It’s China! To be more precise, it’s ShenZhen, China. There are city structures – high-rises, bridges…

Lau Fau Shan Beach

Fishing nets

Lau Fau Shan

And the seafood feast was THE BEST seafoods i’ve ever had. I even had half of a crab…full of eggs…I never liked crab as it’s super high in cholesterol. To be honest, it tasted like a mooncake with egg yolk…not my cup of tea.

I felt good to finally document my brief travel visit again after a while. It’s a new experience and I captured most of what I saw in my street photography style. I’m emotionally more attached to these images for a very good reason.

Cat

colleagues in shadow

on the highway back

Photos were taken with a GRD as a kick start to my project. Earlier the day, I dug into what are the possibilities in Aperture 3 – the photo processing software i use. I found this blog LaRAQUE offering new directions I could try out. I’m totally newbie when it comes to photo processing. He recommends everything starts out with Curves. I’m still trying to get a grasp of it. Just not yet. I get a feeling that the curves control the shadow, highlight, brightness, exposure, and more. Something more advance perhaps. I’ll need time to play with it.

2 thoughts on “To the northern border – Lau Fau Shan (流浮山)

    1. thank you, KUM. That is the happy moment shot with colleagues just before taking the tour bus back. A way to hide known faces in my photo. Glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

