One month with X100 – Episode III: The Colorful Pearl Of The Orient

Kids fishing

Building

chatter

Fixing pipe

Old man

Candy posing

After the typhoon No.10

Too old to protest

National Education Protest March - No turning left. No moving forward.

Tram Driver in a cockpit stuck in the traffic due to the protest

Watching

Cargo ship

Man Fishing

Sports would not stop during the London Olympic

Classic boat on Victoria Harbor

The Tai Hang community

Camouflage

Indian man

_

My balloon

Chefs cooking

Want glasses

Toilet watcher

Thru the umbrella

Couple of things that were significant happened in July. Early last week, a strong typhoon struck Hong Kong. The weather lab had raised the typhoon signal to No.10 (the highest)… last time it happened was 13 years ago. I do not remember it happened though I was in Hong Kong. Besides the snapped trees all over Hong Kong, it had done no major damage.

And this week 90,000 of parents and their children marched on the street, to protest on the National Education subject that will be introduced in the coming school term. An ongoing debate on whether it should be part of a subject in school.

It’s insane of how many parents have come out, while I think many of them were discontent with the current status of government and very likely being mind-controlled by certain political parties. They all chanted ‘stop brainwashing our kids’, ‘stop the brainwash education’. I personally feel the need of such subject in school as to understand more about our motherland. I actually think that the entire education system is out of date. It needs a makeover. I do not understand why there’s so much negativity on National Education among them. The government officials, publishers, authors have total control on what to put on the subject. It’s just that the current guideline is a bit confusing. They just have to work harder to let more teachers, professors involve in the making of this subject. 

Just to be fair, who’s not being brainwashed in Hong Kong.. We were all brainwashed by the Certificate Public Exam (if studied til Form 5), we were brainwashed by the monopoly free broadcasting channel with the low quality crappy dramas/shows/tv celebs, we were all brainwashed and mind-controlled by the biased news media, kids were brainwashed by the pseudo-models in bathing suit, What else??? I fear these have more impact to the children. 

I respect the folks come out to express their own opinion and they certainly have the rights to do so… I just feel that demonstration march is a routine exercise. But I’ve used another perspective to observe the protest – as a commuter. It had caused inconvenience to commuters that weren’t prepared. However, it could be avoided if listen to the news broadcast ahead of time. My dad had expressed the inconvenience caused by the protest, as buses were the only way to get home which services were stopped. The protest demonstration passes through the busy shopping center – Causeway Bay.

Lately, I’d been viewing photographs by Alex Webb and Rebecca Webb. It’s funny how some master’s photos are more like a fine art and some aren’t so much in my book. Of course, everyone has their own aesthetic or interpretation. I have used my own interpretation to under the composition of Alex Webb’s photos and perhaps come up with my own. I have no intention in imitating. I’m only exploring the possibilities in doing so. It’s really fun to do it his way. His photos are like puzzles. Requires more than just one second to ‘read’ his photos, I think that’s what’s critical about his photography. He captures the scene with people doing their own thing, lining up nicely. The scenes he captured are usually so rich in theme and COLORFULLY presented.

That brings to my next point, my Episode II and III are both in colors. It’s exactly what you’re thinking. Many of my photos were shot on a fine sunny day. The colors were rich, contrasts between the warm sunlight and shadow were strong, I had images taken under both ideal conditions. I have to present them in bold colors. I think when subjects are in focus, they look great in color. If not, easiest way to get away with it, is to present it in b&w.

I’m starting to realize when I want to shoot photos in colors, I need to also think about the composition on how it’s going to affect on my photo. I’d try to include similar or contrasting colors in the frame. It also encourages me to check the white balance during post processing. It doesn’t matter how a camera is rendering the color images. At the end, we still take most control of the colors of an image. I have just learned about the temperature/tint adjustment today. It helps a lot in my photo presentation in color. Love it!

I do not ever take sides on either black&white and color. I do not feel the need of picking a side, or just yet. Going both ways help me understand and appreciate the presentation of an original image. Over this month, I found managing the inaccurate exposure of an image in b&w is far easier than in color (I don’t ever shoot in RAW, perhaps that’s the reason).

I also see why the film photography folks love about film. Even photos are not in perfect focus, the blurred photo would not exaggerated by the ugly noise. And the blurred area is as smooth as cream. Versus a blurred photo in digital. It’s very difficult to handle. I often see the only way to do it in digital is to sharpen the image. And the results? Could be usable, but more often I found crappy…

Walking zombie is in the house…I’m not getting enough sleep from the exciting London Olympic games.. I still haven’t decide whether I should continue with my one camera project. There were some rumor circulating, there will be two Fujifilm prosumer cameras (high end & low end) coming this fall… really wish their new models will have a much improved focus mechanism.

This wraps up the month with my loving X100. I’ll continue with my undecided project after the Olympic🙂 Go cheer for your country in front of your TV!!!

4 thoughts on “One month with X100 – Episode III: The Colorful Pearl Of The Orient

  1. Hahaha – in Hong Kong it’s already 1. of August😉 Well… Interesting how you think about color in photography. For me it’s more a mood thing. There are pictures crying for b/w. Others don’t work without colors. But your set definitely needs the color. Very well done. And your eye scanning, as you called it, is perfect. Tomorrow – first of august in germany – I will present some color pictures as well. Different but taken in a color mood. Cheers – KUM

    1. You caught me!
      Now, when I think about shooting in colors, image has to be taken with my X100. I think by using only one camera, I have benefited a lot. Not only understanding the operation of the camera itself, also learned about the image processing.

      Looking forward for you color photography by your GXR too. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

