People of Sheung Wan: The Collection

Sheung Wan

I’d been frustrated about how I should be displaying my photos of the area I often visit. I think it’s best to have them kept as a collection for a longer period of time. This series is exactly what I’m doing. I have the photos kept in my library for over a month (from April til June) and selected the better ones out. I think there’s much to work on still. But I guess I’d done an okay job shooting photos of the district I pass by almost daily (consider the time of my shooting were always at night – not much going on in the area) ,while there’s still a common theme – The district of Sheung Wan.

Dry cured fish

I think in the future I’d do more of these. To let my photos age in my library, like cellaring wines!! I’d still post photos maybe at least twice a week. I’ll find some other stuff to post here..do not worry. I just want this age+selection process to improve my photography over time. Selecting the better ones would improve the overall quality anyway. Is this a transformation to a long term project? I do not know. But it’d save me bunch of time daily thinking about what to post about.

Seafood stock distribution
Dried Seafood stock distribution

I think this series maybe a bit too many but considering  how many photos I’ve taken for over a month. Treat it as a farewell to weekly short posts.

Sheung Wan

In fact, I just revamped my Tumblr blog. I’m making it ‘a photo a day’ sort of thing. For the time being, photos are basically reblogging from my Flickr/Wordpress. I’ll see how this is going. I’m digging the large format photos being displayed with that Tumblr theme. Really hope I could catch more audience in that community. As much as I love WordPress, I’d have my blogs go parallel. I sounded like I’m making lots of changes. But they were done to help my photography grow!

Lady
Lady

Dried Abalone
Dried Abalone

Worker checking at a construction
Worker checking at a construction

Crying kid
Crying kid

Monk
Monk

Workers paving for future (MTR)
Workers paving for future (MTR)

Dog
Dog

Reading Newspaper
Reading Newspaper

Cigarette smoking man
Cigarette smoking man

Traffic Safety Inspector
Traffic Safety Inspector

Police directing traffic due to a leaking fire hydrant
Police directing traffic due to a leaking fire hydrant

Leaking
Leaking

Dog Teeth
Dog Teeth

Study for video game
Study for video game

Drunk
Drunk

Hello?
Hello?

After work
After work

Man on the street
Man on the street

Burning hell money
Burning hell money

These are the characters of the district. I hope I can try a slightly different approach a little at a time. Just so you know, Sheung Wan is the district I work at. It’s also my arcade for testing approaches, techniques, camera settings. Lots of trial and error happened here and I learned from it. The area is usually not too crowded, it’s also a great place to test out my guts and stealthiness..

Thanks and have a great weekend!~ Peace.

5 thoughts on “People of Sheung Wan: The Collection

    1. much to work on ahead of me. i still have some mental barrier on some subjects or moments i avoid capturing. As more experienced i get, i should be able to try harder. I think timing is crucial for anyone who wish to get into it. i’m pretty content with how far i could go with my little camera though.

Leave a Reply

