Days before the Memorial Day of the June Fourth Incident (六四事件前夕)

Blond asian lady

A little piece of bilingual essay this time. I found it meaningful to me that’s why..

I have never attended any political rally/protest of any kind. Part of the reason is because I never care about Hong Kong. This year I started to concern more about the future of Hong Kong as the Legislative Council is not functioning too well due to the ramification of the Parties interests. Many policies is at halt. Many long term plans had been banned. Many short term measurements without the real world research have been done. It all got me thinking why is Hong Kong in such position not going forward, not looking ahead.

Cigarette man

I feel the urge of myself standing out to speak (not physically). I signed up as a Voter first time this year.

Reading paper on stairs

I know very little about the June Fourth Incident (Tiananmen Square protests of 1989). Thanks to wiki, I could learn about what’s going on back then. When I see the casualty and injury numbers, I know something’s not right. I think either right or wrong at that incident, the Chinese government should have come out and speak after years.

Tram stop

In Hong Kong, the June Fourth Incident is one of the main events to protest against the  Chinese government. We all raise the question why the people who wish their country to move forward and change resulted in such tragedy. Even until this day, there’re political movement leaders being held in custody, fled to foreign countries for asylum or worse being monitored like a zoo panda (Ai Wei Wei).

Lady

On friday I passed by Time Square and saw the University Union fasting (64 hrs). There’s also a forum, two guests spent their evenings sharing their experience back in 1989. I sat down and listened for 20 or so minutes.

Days before June Fourth Incident @ Time Square

Whatever the case might be, I want to hear more about the past. We can learn from our past to pave for the future. I’ll be attending in tomorrow’s Memorial Day of June Fourth Incident at the Victoria Park with my dad and sister.

Fasting - Days before June Fourth Incident @ Time Square

我從没有參加過任何示威遊行。主因我不太關心香港及不意思到民主的重要性。直至今年我四出拍照來了解多一点我的家香港,加上政府和立法会不斷出事,令很多事兒辦不到。受害者都是我們社會大眾。

Forum - Days before June Fourth Incident @ Time Square

我感覺到我雖要站出來说。所以我今年第一次登記了做選民,起馬是一個開始!

我對六四一直都不是那麼了解,多得wiki,我至少知道有幾多日傷亡。其數字都非常大,我想什麼事要哪麼多民運人士傷亡?他們都是爱國的人想國家更好,如果不喜歡他們的家就會像香港人般移民,遠走高飛置身事外。這也怪不得我們想中央作出表示。

星期五晚,在時代廣場有教聯發起絕食及開設論壇。我不禁留下聽家賓的事件憶術。

六月四號我會跟家人在維園悼念。

Days before June Fourth Incident @ Time Square

6 thoughts on “Days before the Memorial Day of the June Fourth Incident (六四事件前夕)

  1. Alan, I’m glad that young people like you are starting to feel a sense of Hong Kong identity. I was in my 2nd yr at Lancaster Uni, UK & my friends & I had just been sitting and talking with a HK friend who was on 24 hr hunger strike protest the night of 4 June for our Chinese society. It was around midnight when we got frantic calls from other Chinese Society student members to switch our tvs on: “The army are killing the students in Tiananmen with tanks!”
    My friends and I rushed back to our dorm, put on the TV, and right in front of our eyes, the news showed tanks mowing down the very students we had been supporting! How terrible!
    My friends and I were in total shock!

    I am interested you say HK parties are in-fighting. Politics in HK will always be influenced by our ‘motherland’ & we need higher calibre politicians who will help HK be proud of its uniqueness: we are Cantonese Hong Kong Chinese.
    National Geographic magazine has an article in it’s June 2012 edition – read it or check out some of the article and photogaphy on http://www.nationalgeographic.com.
    You have all my support tomorrow. Every new day brings HOPE.

    1. Thank you Alison for sharing your experience. I could picture the seriousness of the situation as it continued to escalate at the time it happened. We would not care about it if we’re not the people of China/Chinese.

      1. I hate the apathy that Britain shows to elections with appaulingly low turn outs of 30-40%, like democracy is taken for granted when so many other countries are unable to cast a vote. So well done again signing up is a positive step.

Leave a Reply

