People of Shatin

Landmark of Shatin - New Town Plaza
Landmark of Shatin – New Town Plaza

Shatin is located in the New Territories, was one of the earliest towns that was built and developed by the government. It was built to solve the population problem in the Kowloon Peninsula. Public housing estates were built along the Shing Mun River. The Shing Mun River is famed for the Annual Dragon Boat Race in Fall.

MTR train painting
MTR train painting

Lady at the train station
Lady at the train station

Man and his mobile device
Man and his mobile device

I arrived at Shatin in mid-afternoon. I visited the Ten Thousand Buddha Monastery before walking into the town. There’s a tale of me and my brand new New Balance fashion sneakers. It’s not the old skool running shoes. It’s the All-Star type of sneakers. Perhaps that day I shouldn’t be wearing ankle socks. My right ankle kept rubbing against the ankle part of my shoe. It hurt like hell…my will kept me going for as long as I could. I had examined the shoe and nothing’s rough or abnormal…it’s the sock. I love that pair of sneakers but it needed some break-in. Don’t ever wear ankle socks on new shoes before breaking them in.!!!

Audiences watching the weekend music and dance
Audiences watching the weekend music and dance

From distance I heard someone singing old fashioned songs, that led me to find out where it came out from. There’s actually a party like social gathering from the local folks. They were dancing and some equipments/speakers were set up for music. Audiences hung out around the gathering. Judging from the casual settings and number of audiences. That must be a regular event happen once a week at the same spot. All I see was joy and happiness.

Normal Sunday Music and dance by the Shing Mun River.
Normal Sunday Music and dance by the Shing Mun River

Dancers in pairs by Shing Mun River
Dancers in pairs by Shing Mun River

Cycling is an activity that attracts visitors to come to Shatin. There’s a dedicated cycling lane for cyclists along the river. And no surprised, there were people jogging and fishing. Dragon boat athletes were practicing on the river too. It’s a serious sport for somebody.

Family watching the Dragon Boat practice
Family watching the Dragon Boat practice

Cheese battle
Chess battle

There are folks playing cheese. Full of lives along the river!

abandoned bike in the river
Abandoned bike in the river

Watching over you
Watching over you

I wandered into the Lek Yuen Estate. It’s built in 1975. There were interesting characters there. I shot only a few and ones that I felt representing the estate.

Colorful man at the colorful Lek Yuen Estate
Colorful man at the colorful Lek Yuen Estate

I really think I could have circled for one more round and taken more photos. I’ll keep that in mind and count how many photographs taken in an area. Even I don’t chimp on my photos, I should do a photo count in my mind. Now when I think of it, I should have hunted for shots rather than let them come by chance. And when I need a shot, do it until i get it before leaving the area. I’ll get that straight next time.

Entertainment Centre
Entertainment Centre

Lek Yuen Estate
Laundry hanging at the Estate

Light post
Light post

Security guard
Security guard

The Shatin Town stretches really long along the river. I’ve only explored a small bit of it. There should be more interesting things in the area left to see and experience.

I fine tuned the saturation and vibrancy on my image preset for X100. I think I’m getting there.

7 thoughts on “People of Shatin

  1. This pictures are giving a great overall impression. They kind of following a certain story: you walking around, eyes wide open. I like them all. Well done. Colors are a little bit on the retro kind of style. But that’s your choice.

    1. I tuned down on the saturation and vibrancy in this series. It’s going to be my permanent preset setting on my Aperture 3. I like how the pictures are looking right now. Thanks!!

    1. thank you Wouter. It was a good start at the train station. Usually it’s not easy to spot strong characters that are not in motion. Hong Kong people walk fast. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

