Fujifilm EF-X20 Flash, i got it.

Fujifilm X100 & EF-X20 Flash
Fujifilm X100 & EF-X20 Flash

First I must clarify, I’m not suffering from G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). I had not bought any gear since February this year! There’re tons of gear review on the web. I’ll make this more of a personal diary explain why I get this. Plus, sharing how it looks on a X100. I just couldn’t find any images of this combination on the web…I thought whoever stumbled upon my photos would make you decide better.

Hooray!! It’s my first flash I’ve ever bought!!

The decision why i bought it today was totally an impulse. I know the price would not easily go down on this kind of item. And I’d been doing research. The size is so compact. Even from the front, you see how minimal when compare to other flashes out there. Moreover, I want to learn how to use a flash properly. I hope I would learn something before it’s dead. The price don’t come cheap. I think of It as a tuition to comfort myself.

Yea..that being said. I’d do flash photography on the street when I take my X100 out. Before buying the flash, I had a dilema. Should I work on the techniques more without a flash/or with the in-camera flash?

I had been pretty aggressive on the street lately. I am doing flash photography on the street. I think I still have much to work on in terms of technique and my positioning. Perhaps it’s just me. I learn everything myself on the go. I like figuring out things myself. It’s my attitude that kept me going. Adding a piece of gear may drive me to work X times harder. “I just want to be better”

I haven’t try the flash yet as I got no battery (today was raining, a long walk to get it). I believe there shouldn’t be any problem. I just have to have the right settings.

Today I also played with a X-Pro1 at the camera shop. I was surprised how light it is in my hand (it’s a size bigger than a X100 side to side!). It handles alright, just like a X100. Parallax is larger than a X100. The shutter sound is audible. Almost like the Lumix/Olympus ones,..it’s the focal plane shutter design. Now I know what it’s all about. It makes me appreciate my X100 even more!!

Also, I saw the Olympus OM-D in the display. It’s A LOT smaller than I expected. It’s not a full frame after all…

15 thoughts on “Fujifilm EF-X20 Flash, i got it.

  1. I love my X100 too.

    A question: I find the in-camera flash for X100 sufficient for most fill-flash situations. Could you tell me what advantages the EF-X20 has over the in-camera flash other than the power? Thank you😀

    1. Hey JPanda! It’s the power, range distance, the color temp., and the most I love about is the controllable dial that controls the flash exposure.

      I’m neither a techy guy nor a photography geek, so I can’t reply to you in technical language. My initial experience is that, with the right flash exposure in TTL mode and the right camera exposure. It can effectively isolate the subject(s) and the background noise. In other words, I get more control over the EF-X20 flash unit than the built-in flash unit.

      I have only tested it at home with my dad. I’ll go for a spin with it tonight and find out more myself.

      I had been flashing up people at night with the built-in flash last week. The intelligent flash works great though I found it lack of projection (i don’t know if that’s a good thing). It makes the lighting look rather natural not harsh at all.

      Have a great start of the week!

  2. Looks awesome, thank You for the images, but I think I will go with the Fujifilm EF-20 instead. It cost 2x less and can bounce up to ceiling🙂
    Right now I am using the Canon 430ex flash on the X100 and it is way too big for it.
    Also I like the TTL part🙂

    1. thanks Tenisd. Yea..it’s pretty awesome. Size is kind of my thing and yea TTL is the whole point getting it. It’s like an automatic gearbox!

      have fun flashbanging!

      1. Heii, little update🙂
        I checked both, the EF-20 and the EF-X20 at an local tradeshow and the EF-X20 on X100 looks and feels so much better🙂 The off camera flash function is alone worth the price. The size is realy so much better on EF-X20 too🙂

      2. It’s always good to try it out and see for yourself. It’s a good investment if you’d be shooting w/ flash most the time. If not, the built-in one does the job very good already.

  3. I really like my EFX20 flash – it pretty much stays on my Leica M8 all the time – the flash switches off after 15 minutes of inactivity which can catch you out so i wish the timeout could be disabled somehow

Leave a Reply

