Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market (果欄)

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

From my walk from the Streets of Jordan – Mong Kok. I also passed by this wonderful part of Old Hong Kong –

The fruit market has been around since 1913. It’s the oldest wholesale fruit market in Hong Kong. I have heard it a lot in the news. It’s also my first time passing by there. The market itself is still partially functional. Many transactions are now not exactly happening here. The entire block you see at the fruit market made me travel back in time.

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

Everything there looks dated and beaten. You can easily see the lack of maintenance roof. The complex is only two story high. So you know how flat the buildings were back then!!! This place has a lot of historic value. I really hope the fruit market as well as some of the old buildings around can be maintained.

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

I really don’t like the restoration of old structures had turned into new apartment buildings or shopping malls. Our government is forcing the old communities to scatter and move away. This approach is so annoying that i don’t think anyone realize how bad it is, and how far the government had gone.

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

Old communities have their own charm, dynamic, ecosystem. By removing them, anything unique, special about the people and the place would be gone forever. A wipe out! Pretty much like the Native Indians in America. Well..not to that extreme. But you get the idea..Where’re they now…

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market

Our districts are lacking of its originalities. In a sense, most of the districts look and feel the same. Just have a look at all the new developed New Territories districts. I’m sorry to say, but many of those public estates are like prisons. I’ll leave it up to another topic in the future.

What's on a leaflet
What’s on it

Many of these Hong Kong social issues were discussed on a TV program (I Want to Be the Chief Executive) by Mathias Woo. He had raised so many questions and always criticizing positively on why our government is failing since the handover in 1997. I’ve heard much from him.

Torn food menu
Torn food menu

At the time of my visit, it was on Sunday. Many of the stores were closed. Only a few were open. So I briefly passed by and that’s it. Perhaps more next time when I visit the place at the time when they’re working.

This series is presented in B&W. Experience the little travel back in time with me!! Alright, pictures from my last post were too saturated I tuned down my preset on Aperture. I’m still working on the presets.. fine adjustments little by little every time..

8 thoughts on “Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market (果欄)

    1. Thanks! I believe it’s lack of long term planning and also the knowledge of these heritage by both the government officials and the public.

      Government always solve the immediate problem more than setting the path right. I’m quite sad that the Old Hong Kong can only be found in theme park..

    1. yes, but there isn’t any surprises as you can’t see the behind the scene of all the loading and docking. Most of the shops there, sell like a normal fresh market.🙂 More of them close on weekends.

      1. Thanks for the quick reply! What is the recommended time to go? I understand during some times they are quite busy and rather touchy.:/

Leave a Reply

