3 Days with Fujifilm X100

I got my seat.
I got my seat

Okay. Back to my honking X100 (finally)!!

I’m not giving my post any particular title as I was really shooting with the X100 for 3 days in few difference locations.

Beautiful hat
Beautiful Hat

I took my X100 out for a couple days. I was shaky and doing many crappy shots on the first day. That’s the sign of not been using it for a long long time. Plus, I was doing shots at night, the f-value was at F3.6-4.5 with zone focusing. Many shots were not as sharp as it turned out. I’m too used to the snap focus on my GRD…

Untitled
Untitled

My shots started to come together on my third day in a busy district of Tsim Sha Tsui. I was adjusting the distance with my focus ring from time to time to get my shots. The focus ring works when you know your distance with the subject. That’s about it. Fuji has to work on their focusing mechanism. Even the new X-Pro1 is suffering the same quirkiness. I could only imagine one day Fuji has a snap focus function like in Ricoh.

Indian Man
Indian Man

I wouldn’t say my creativity is limited by the not-too-fast AF or manual focus for only zone focusing. I would say if you know how camera operates, you’ll appreciate the current features of the X100. It’s more than enough and it works well.

Indian Lady
Indian Lady

I had said before the image effects could be a distraction to your serious photography. I’ll say it again. I’m stuck with the only Astia film simulation. Then run with presets on Aperture 3 to get my images done. Today I modified one of the built-in presets for my X100.

Couple
Couple

The ISO 12800 performance of the X100 is a nice boost to the limit of its sensor. The pixel noise is not so pretty though with JPEG. There’s always repeated noise pattern in the same area. The colors are too washed out. Black and white is the only way to go. I’ll read more about the RAW format. I think it’s something i want to try out in the future.

Cigarette
Cigarette

I took notably less shots with the X100 than the GRD. It’s the size and shiny metal that prevented me to get the candid shots. My only comfort is the LCD screen. It’s the not-so-pro method, by framing with the LCD can often guarantee me the candid shot.  (I was adjusting back to the use of this camera)

Parental Guidance
Parental Guidance

Less is more, I only bring my camera to eye when i see the shot is right. It saves my time selecting photos from my drive.

Cigarette man
Cigarette man

Finally I’ve to admit the clarity of image by Fuji is their strongest point and one important reason why I still own my X100 as much as I love my GRD.

Look that way
Look that way

Funky hat
Funky hat

Cigarette lady
Cigarette lady

Man and a soda
Man and a soda

Bus stop rainy day
Bus stop rainy day

Boy
Boy

After work hangout
After work hangout

Untitled
Untitled

Until my next post with X100. Keep shooting!

Find out more of my recent X100 photography, please also go to the following posts:
The Colorful Hong Kong: 5-6/2012 Collection – Part I
The Colorful Hong Kong: 5-6/2012 Collection – Part II

17 thoughts on “3 Days with Fujifilm X100

    1. Xpro 1 and X100 are both great cameras. Many have questioned the on the actual shooting capability such as burst shooting rate, focus speed, etc. I think what many enthusiasts have overlooked are their traditional photographic sense. Don’t let technology drives us. It’s us, we take control of the cameras.

    1. Thank you Rudolf. I’m working on it – a.k.a. learning!! Those were a few weird days for me to go from snap focus to zone focus and 28mm to 35mm. I had a bad time adjusting. I managed to pull out a few shots on day 3. Now I’m pretty spot on even I only use this camera (X100) mostly in weekends.

      A little about the bus stops here in Hong Kong. We rarely have bench at our bus stops. I could only name two places that have benches.

    1. My Flickr buddy, Craig! Thanks for dropping by.

      Because I ‘thought’ the GXR is a bad design. If I could choose again, I might get the GXR and the proprietary M mount. The GRD still has it’s advantages include the compactness which I pretty much enjoy.

      The only thing that I’m afraid is if I got a GXR then what would I so with my loving X100. I prefer the Fuji over Ricoh as for using a larger sensor camera. The hybrid ovf is a joy!

      I got to mention the GRD has the low key low profile look which won’t tick off people as much…

      1. ok good stuff, thanks.
        Can the X100 replicate in anyway, Ricohs snap function? How do you find the 35mm compared to 28mm for street? They’re the two main things I have it down to. The X100 is £100 less than the GXR + 28 too but maybe that’s not a concern.

      2. The snap focus function is so great. I agreed. It’s the biggest selling point of their line up just after the in-camera customizations. It’s also one excuse not to get into zone to get the shot. Plus, the GV-2 ovf (only 85% fields of view) and the parallax…28mm + parallax is the worst nightmare for me, especially I do close up street photography sometimes. Today, I made serious mistakes when shooting close up. I wouldn’t have the same problem with the FujiX100. As in the X100, I pre focus. I shoot when I get to my distance zone.

        I do wish to shoot with a classic manual lens. I think GXR is the best to enjoy it with. However, it does not have built-in ovf. I wouldn’t be able to mount on a flash and a viewfinder at the same time…very sad. When I get richer and more experienced one day, I might just get a Leica M!!! That’s my goal in 5-8 years?! Um…yea..

        You have a nice day!

  1. Great shots here – really like your B&W Aperture work. I’m using Astia and a whole bunch of my own presets for B&W but struggle to get this look. Any tips?

    1. thanks Matthew! try converting the original astia photo to a higher contrast setting preset in colors (saturation, contrast, little curve adjustment). Or If you don’t want to do it in Aperture, try adjusting the image setting in the camera (color, contrast, shadow tone, highlight tone, sharpness). Then now you can play with the b&w presets. That’s how I do it. Good luck!

      Here’s an outstanding preset package I found really useful: http://terrychay.com/article/aperture-3-presets-3.shtml

  2. Nice collection. I agree that the x100 is a fabulous street camera once you learn how to work around the quirks. Ultimately it is the image quality that makes this camera totally worth it.

    1. Thanks for dropping by Kaushal! I’ve heard about your name and your signature photos for at least two months. Until today I read about your interview on the Leica blog and to able to know about you. My pleasure to meet you.

      I’d been using my X100 a lot these days because of the hybrid viewfinder (thanks to the Avengers movie + Iron Man..haha). I get to frame a lot better with my photos and made me almost totally forget about the parallax.

      I have not heard about the master Raghu Rai until today although I think I’ve seen his photos in a Magnum book. I’ll view more photos by both of you. You guys’ photos are impressive.

      Have a great day!

  3. “My only comfort is the LCD screen. It’s the not-so-pro method, by framing with the LCD can often guarantee me the candid shot.”

    Well, this is interesting. I personally a fan of optical viewfinder. I think it is faster and more natural. On the other side, I always have problem when framing through LCD — seems like you have a different experience🙂.

    1. I must admit that 3 days was like recovering a fossil for me. I hadn’t use the X100 for nearly a month. I was using the techniques I use with my GRD. So the LCD framing was one thing.

      When I look at it now again, I also questioned the same thing “why was I using the LCD while the hybrid OVF works like a dream?” As you read my recent posts, I’d been using the awesome OVF.

      Thanks for checking out!

Leave a Reply

