People of Jordan

Street of Jordan

Traveling to a new district or even just a location you do not pass by daily allows us to pay more attention to the surroundings. Lately I’d been stuck in the few districts doing my shoot. It’s near by my workplace and home. I got lazy.

I'm a ninja, samurai wannabe
I’m a ninja, samurai wannabe

This weekend It was simply wasted. I worked OT on saturday without paid or compensation. And Sunday I supposed to go to cemetery with my family, it rained and got canceled. Thanks to the rain really. I was literally dragging myself home on saturday. I slept in..no..I slept almost half the day to rest. That’s how tired I was. I did go out to shoot photos for two hours though. Photography keeps me moving!

Pulling
Pulling

So about this series. I visited Jordan in Kowloon prior to work. I found the area near the Nathan Road to be a great location to explore. There’re so many streets and people are hanging out there most of the time. I’ll just put it this way, there’re more things going on here than the districts I usually travel to for photography.

Working
Working

My gear with me that day was just my GRD due to the weight I’m already carrying to work. I’m trying to get back to my X100 lately. I’ll shoot some with it during weekdays. I’m so fascinated with Andreas Herzau’s shooting style. I’m not sure what gear he’s using. I’m guessing a Leica M film rangefinder and a 30-35mm lens. I really don’t care about what equipment he’s using. His expressive focus method motivated me to use my X100 to learn from him. It’s not easy at all. I have no idea how he accurately focus on his subject (usually at the back) while the entire scene is moving (especially the foreground subjects are too). He often found the gaps and angles to get his shot done. He’s not using small aperture in his work. My rough guess is that, he should be using between f3.0-5.0 in his photos. They’re very visual appealing. I want to see his other works from books. I’m planning to order all his books on Amazon once I got my pay cheque of this month.

Reading Jockey paper
Reading Jockey paper

Exploration is far greater than repeat visitation. There’s still much to see and explore by me in the city. I just have to constantly look for it.

Jade Market welcomes you
Jade Market welcomes you

The Jade Market is one new spot that I have only seen on TV.

Moving
Moving

The Middle Easterners
The Middle Easterners

Minorities are gathering along the Nathan Road. Seeing different ethnic communities in Hong Kong makes me feel like i’m at an actual international city. There’s one thing for sure, I love their food..

Watching the lives of everyone.
Watching the lives of everyone.

Beer break in a hot day of work
Beer Break

What's happening
What’s happening

A case of beer on the ground.
A case of beer on the ground.

I could tell I’m far more selective during my photo shoot. That’s a good thing isn’t it!

8 thoughts on “People of Jordan

    1. a few times. Either you are fast enough and they don’t see you. Or you shot just before they notice you. Or you blend in, they don’t see you at all. Or they know you’re shooting, you just greet them afterwards. Or you ask permission.

      I personally prefer blend in, shoot before they notice you and ask permission. Good luck!!

      1. keep trying. If someone stares at you, just say hello. It’s all good. I’ve never got beaten up for the past 6 months or so. It’s something you’ve to learn by doing. Good luck!

  1. i got yelled at by just lifting the camera next to a guy, he thought i will take a photo of him but im clearly pointing across the street…. ha..ha… he almost wanna hit me

Leave a Reply

