People of Sheung Wan – explained when I do colors and black & white.

Man eating ice-cream bar
Man eating ice-cream bar

Back to the basic – my normal street photography. These are the snaps from last month or so. I don’t remember…I snap photos daily like a ritual..

Man napping on the bridge
Man napping on the bridge

I’m certainly fond of black and white to this day. I guess it doesn’t matter whether it’s color or black and white. It really depended upon my mood of that day or how i feel like processing. I think it also depend upon what the subjects are doing. Such as in this series, a man eating an ice-cream bar. If it’s in black and white, it wouldn’t be as vivid as it’d be in b&w. When it’s in color, you see him holding a brown lollipop thingy. It’s much easier for the viewers to determine what exactly I was trying to capture at that very moment.

Takeaway lunch
Takeaway lunch

Another case would be, the backgrounds are too crowded and messy (it usually is in Hong Kong). I had to express the image in colors to pop the colors out, for example when I see ladies wearing a gorgeous colorful dress. Viewers’ attention would be drawn to her dress.

Health Inspector on the lookout.
Health Inspector on the lookout.

Others working, i'm too, with my phone
Others working, i’m too, with my phone

I like black & whites on the working class people. They usually have mismatched uniforms, distinct facial expression, facial details. It’s just feels right for me to view that group of people in b&w. They’re the people who build up the foundation of Hong Kong. I respect them. Without them, there’s no Hong Kong at all. They’re part the group of people who have gone thru the tough times with their own stories. I want the moment i capture to look timeless.

A little break before his next destination
A little break before his next destination

Another project (it’s more of my personal exploration). I’m currently spotting things that look out of place in town. Anything I see that are not in order (dead objects), overcrowded, fallen, broken, shattered, … I’d get a shot of it. I like them in black & white. Like many says black & white allow viewers to concentrate the subject more carefully (and not get distracted by any colors in the mess <–yeah that's exactly what I'm doing 'capturing the mess')

Young lady texting after work
Young lady texting after work

So all in all, I do not lean on either colors or black & white. I enjoy working with both format.

Beard man waiting
Beard man waiting

2 thoughts on “People of Sheung Wan – explained when I do colors and black & white.

Leave a Reply

