21mm street photography with Ricoh GRD IV + GW-2

i read paper
i read paper

Just woke up (had a nap, skipped my dinner). I had dreams of my college years. I had a dilemma if I would be different, if I was already photographing back then. One thing I know for sure, I did not have photos of me taken during my stay at universities. I’m quite regret.

It’s been more than a week since last time i posted pictures of my street photography. As promised, together with the results from 21mm.

It was a quite a challenge to adjust from 28mm to 21mm when shooting on streets. Not only because of the focal length, but also the extra components that needs to be added to the GRD. Frankly, I was skeptical if it’s even necessary to use the GW-2 (21mm conversion). Well, I really had spent my past two weekends to see the difference myself.

I carry goods
I carry goods

I have nothing against the original 28mm GR lens. I just did not want to see my GW-2 sitting at home covering with dust. The extra component added weight and little bulkiness to my GRD setup. At the end when I compare the size to my X100, the GRD+GW-2 is really only slightly longer with the conversion kit. The gear has not too much influence when I’m really shooting. I found myself when using the 21mm, it encourages me to go even closer to the subjects. It’s also because I wanted the shots, so I adapted by stepping up to people and get into zones.

Newstand owner: What I sell is bad for you, read book instead.
Newstand owner: What I sell is bad for you, read book instead.

When shooting on the first weekend, I was mainly framing thru my OVF. I slightly messed up my distance with the OVF. After that weekend, I told myself not to be fooled by what I see with the OVF. I needed to program myself to get into my zone prior framing my shots.

Untitled

Personal gaming station
Personal gaming station

In my second weekend, I felt I wasn’t pressured to shoot. I cleared out my mind and did random shooting. I really think I carry this mentality every day.

Indulgence
Indulgence

World stops with ipad and cigarette
World stops with ipad and cigarette

Where you at?
“Where you at?”

U eat, I eat. Let's eat!
U eat, I eat. Let’s eat!

Tea time snack: fish ball
Tea time snack: Curry Fish ball

Untitled

Alright the following ones are from the first weekend of shooting.

Full gear for rain
Full gear for rain

Untitled

Wheelchair lady

Untitled

Umbrella man
Umbrella man

Looking for shelter
Looking for shelter

My conclusion to the 21mm. It’s totally possible to shoot street photography. Image clarity is acceptable when ISO setting is below 1000. Anything higher than ISO 1000, the image tends to be blurred with the distorted megapixel (not motion blur). It’s best only using during the day.

I’m currently messing with black and white. I have not touched my X100 for weeks (covering with dust). At some point last week, I was thinking about selling it to fund for an iMac. But then It’s always good to have a spare camera around, moreover it’s a great piece of gem. It makes good photos too.

Alright the B&W had much to do with a few photo books I bought over the weekend, including Daido Moriyama’s “To Another Country” (published in Asia). It’s a day to day journal like writing of what he’s doing/thinking at the time he’s traveling for photography. There were some photos but not in particularly good quality. I wish to see more. So I’m thinking about getting more from the black and white master – Daido Moriyama’s Record photo books. Plus, also thinking about order from Amazon. Oh yea, I want to expand my photographic knowledge by seeing others’ work.

I’m very moved by his dedication to his passion – photography. He’s 74 this year, a few years older than my dad. Given the fact that Moriyama san drinks and smokes quite regularly, he’s still in shape doing his work. I’m very glad he’s still enjoying his life very much. As he had mentioned in his book, his life is at the stage of late autumn and entering winter. He also wishes himself he could still be in good health, and carry his little camera, walk to places he wants to. He was 69 when he wrote that. I very much wish him in good health and produce more work for the world of photography.

Leave a Reply

