16:9 – It’s making my photos look cinematic

When bus broke down..
When bus broke down..

This series of 16:9 was from January. My GRD’s image filter was set to bleach bypass – warm. I really did not realize after cropping my photos into 16:9. They all look like scenes from movie. I really overlooked what bleach bypass could transform my photos into.

Something's going on
Something’s going on

I admit these photos were some that I thought were seriously below par, or too ordinary per se. I overlooked the power of mundane. The back of a lady might not be as interesting as the front. However It gives wonders to the viewers and also less distracted by the characters in a photo. It’s not bad reviewing our archives once in a while!

On my way to work via Aberdeen Street
On my way to work via Aberdeen Street

These photos as you’d notice, they have no close up characters like my other street photography. It allows me to crop off all the unnecessary empty details of the original 4:3, while it still tells stories of my ordinary life in Hong Kong. I kinda like how it’s presenting ;D  I’ll definitely do more in the future.

Air/Sun dry chinese med by the sewer
Air/Sun dry chinese med by the sewer

No business at noon
No business at noon

Cheese battle
Cheese battle

Old biker resting
Old biker resting

Now I see some of these shots were actually great. Best of all, they were all candid. It got me thinking why on earth do I always go up close to my subjects, while I could do a much better job from a little distance when it’s not crowded. That’s something for me to think about ;/

2 thoughts on “16:9 – It’s making my photos look cinematic

Leave a Reply

