My Review of March 2012

Old couple & Young couple.
Old Couple & Young Couple.

It’s the end of March. It’s 30 days of photography. Mostly done during the night, there were occasions where I’d chance to shot during the day. My enthusiaism can be shown from my frequency spent on photography. I would not say I’ve learn much during these 30 days. There are subtle adjustment every time when I shoot. I could see myself go in to the person closer at the beginning of the month, and some of those images were great benchmarks of what I should stay on. Toward the end of the month, I’m getting passive and sloppy.

I need consistency. Just like sports, consistency is hard work. Making my entire approach adaptable is the best way to react when spotting things out. Ultimately, they would become my second nature. I believe this would work for you too.

Someone's insurance complaint banner
Someone’s insurance complaint banner

It feels good when I see myself making nice images. I took time preparing before every shoot, and the feeling of something rewarded can’t simply described in words.

Little girl.
Little girl.

Taxi!
Taxi!
I tend to photograph more serious with my X100 than my GRD. I guess it has to do with the pro camera look. It really doesn’t have anything about what camera is better than another.

Hardware packing
Hardware packing

I have mentioned zone focusing forces me to frame my photos better. We measure the distance by eyeballing our subject. For example, when i shot at night with f3.6, pre-focused at 1.7m. The setting allows me to shoot between 1.5m to 2.0m. I must stand between 1.5-2.0m in order to get a sharp image. And if I pre-focused to 1m, it forces me to go really close. I like how it forces me to get the shot right. Beginners must do this and get past the fear by doing so!!

All attention goes to her phone
All attention goes to her phone

Relax, have fun and be very curious are something street photographers should bear.

Friday night, celebrate with beer.
Friday night, celebrate with beer.

Be calm and trust our camera. The rest is up to you.

Burying a posche with ..
Burying a posche with ..

There’re times when I have bad mood and possibly brain fart, I’d really struggle for the day. There’s not much I could do but to free my mind.

All the images were taken with a Fujifilm X100 in the first week of March.

Leave a Reply

