Ma Wan – Another dying fishing village of HK

I took a visit to this place the day after visiting one of my grandmas’ in the suburb of Hong Kong. Ma Wan now is known for an interlacing island between the cities in Kowloon to the Lantau Island and the Airport. There’re bridges here and there passing through Ma Wan.

There are two bridges: The Kap Shui Mun Bridge is one of the longest cable-stayed bridges in the world that transports both road and railway traffic, with the upper deck for motor vehicles, and the lower deck for both vehicles and the MTR. Sadly, there’s no stops from the MTR.

And there’s the Tsing Ma Bridge. It is the world’s seventh-longest span suspension bridge, and was the second longest at time of completion. The look of it reminds me of the Golden Gate Bridge in the States. I was very proud when the construction finished back then. When I was still young, I’d never imagine Hong Kong could build this type of modern large scale construction. It has become one of the landmarks of Hong Kong.

My family participated in the walkathon of the entire Tsing Ma Channel (start from Sheung Wan to The Chek Lap Kok International Airport). That’s friggin’ long, an approx. over 30 mins of taxi ride.

On the last day of working saturday. I wasn’t sure where to shoot photos until the last moment (as always). There are two ways to get there, by bus or jet boat. I’m more resilient to sea sick more than car sick. Sitting in stuffy bus can sometimes make me sick no matter how short the trip is. Moreover, the sunny day just encourage me to see the water, mountain and sunshine.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong

I only visited a small part of my destination Ma Wan Park. The place that you’ll see was where i wandered into – Ma Wan Old Fishing Village. It’s a settlement by the native Ma Wan Villagers.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
Entering the village

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
Discontentment being expressed on the government housing arrangement for part of the natives.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
One of the few heritage remains unraveled in Ma Wan, a stone cavern dated back over a century.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
man fishing at a public pier. I tried to get the sun…it seemed harder than i thought with the GRD.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
An open area for sun drying seafood – originally famous for their Shrimp Paste seasoning.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
It’s part of the old Hong Kong that will extinct at certain point of my life time.

My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
Into the wild
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
the scene speaks for itself that almost any capture will be a guaranteed good.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
This gives us hope. Still there’re active fishermen living here.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
rusted bolt on a barrier facing the ocean.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
narrow gap between houses.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
shot from the top of Ma Wan Park – known as the Bird Watching Pavilion.
My first visit to Ma Wan, Hong Kong
The signature landmark of Hong Kong – Tsing Ma Bridge. Somehow i get the feeling that some years later, it’ll become a commercial district/resort/attraction near the bridges. It’s just so darn great to watch it at night. Quiet, peaceful, lovely!

To conclude this few hour trip, it’s a well worth visit to the island and the clean/quiet community. Perfect destination for your kids and family. For me, it’s another great place to mark on my photographic spot. Also, a great field test drive on the Ricoh GRD IV 28mm lens. It captures landscape pretty darn good.

I found myself no sign of fatigue holding it in my hand all day literally. I’m really thinking about getting the 22mm conversation kits GH-2 & GW-2. I think functionality-wise, the GRD exceeds what G3 can give me. Quality-wise, G3’s images has more clarity for cropping, more depth of field when using prime lenses. One thing that I see myself falling into, is to choose between them. I kept telling myself both are great cameras. Just trust on my own techniques and capture the best out of the camera i’m holding. That’s what matters!! The cameras are mine anyway, it won’t go nowhere🙂

P.S. That was the last day of our company’s 6-working day era. Beginning in February, i work only 5 days. Meh…still not sure how many more days left in the company for me..The sales job is not fitting me too well especially after today’s meeting with boss urging me to not just sit in the office. It’s just not my nature to go out & look for sh|t..For better or worse, I should set out an exit time table.

Leave a Reply

